November 18, 2011

President Isaias awards winners of African Cycling Championship

Asmara, 17 November 2011- President Isaias Afwerki has awarded winners of the 7th African Cycling championship which was conducted from 9th to 13th November, 2011 here in Asmara. Additional prizes were also handed to members of the Eritrean National Cycling Federation, and reporters from the Ministry of Information.

In the awarding ceremony that took place at Asmara Place Hotel yesterday, the President congratulated the Eritrean people on the victory scored by the cyclists, and indicated that the victory scored attests to the existing capacity of athletes in the country. However, he cautioned against complacence over the victories scored last year and this year in the African Championship. President Isaias further asserted that the Eritrean athletes would attain victory in World Championship.

Furthermore, he called on the athletes to continue the victories scored in African Championship, and reminded the Eritrean National Cycling Federation to step up its efforts towards fostering more youths and promote the strengthening of sports activities in all the Administrative regions.

Mr. Samson Solomon, coach of the national men’s cycling team, said on his part that government incentive to cycling competition reinforces the capacity of the cyclists, and that they will strive to achieve more victories.

10 members of the national men’s cycling team were awarded 110 thousand Nakfa each, Coach Samson Solomon 80 thousand Nakfa, and 9 cyclists from the national women’s cycling team were awarded 50 thousand Nakfa each and their coach Musie Ashel 70 thousand Nakfa. Likewise, the Eritrean National Cycling Federation was awarded 1 Million and 100 thousand Nakfa. Reporters from the Ministry of Information who gave good coverage to the event also received awards.

Eritrea elected to the UN Human Rights Council

Italian Prime Minister conducts official visit to...

Sustainable Development Goal 16 –...


Meeting of Cabinet Ministers

International Youth Day observed